DJ Phatrick


Fuck Song* of the Day: Smashing Pumpkins – “Luna”
August 1, 2008, 3:20 pm
Filed under: Music, Video | Tags: , , , , ,

* Ok, so “fuck song” a misleading category for this song, but hopefully it got your attention.

The year is 1994. I’m in 7th Grade. My family has just purchased its first CD player in the form of a Sony boombox. The homie lets us borrow his Smashing Pumpkin’s Siamese Dream cd. My dad dubs it onto a cassette for me. I fall in love.

Siamese Dream was the first full album I ever listened to in its entirety. To this day, I consider it a perfect album. “Spaceboy” was the only song I would skip, but that’s only because my dad accidentally dubbed it twice: it ended the A-Side and started the B-Side (whatchu 90s babies know about cassettes?!).

Smashing Pumpkins – “Luna”

“Luna” ends Siamese Dream with a chorus of overdubbed Billy Corgans singing “I’m in love with you..” over and over again. “Luna” also ended every single love mixtape I ever made.

Note: James Iha, the other guitarist in Smashing Pumpkins, is the first Asian American countercultural pop music idol in my life. We wanted so bad to be like him. Even planned on growing my hair long like him; but you know where that went.

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

i still have all my sp cds…including pisces escariot and ::gulp:: their box set.

hi, phatty! 🙂

Comment by hanalei

““Luna” also ended every single love mixtape I ever made.” haha. i ❤ smashing pumpkins. i have James Iha’s solo cd. what happened to his solo career? Tony told me you’re on wordpress. – Momo

Comment by oakmama




Leave a Reply

